My foodie Interest (吃四方)

Crawford – Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles

Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles was previously located at Hill Street.  It has since moved to Block 466 Crawford Lane.  Parking can be a problem over here.  If the carpark is full, you can try the HDB parking just opposite the road or the immigration car park at Lavender Street.

I prefer to park at the immigration.  After a hearty meal, it is good to walk a little and help with the digestion.  On top of the that, it is interesting to watch people fishing at the canal, and the occassional king fisher hunting.

Tai Hwa was actually recommended by my mother-in-law.  “I had to queue 45 minutes just for two bowls of kway teow soup,” echoed by father-in-law.  By the way, I really dislike crowds and long queue.

Just last Sunday at about 3.30 pm, I bought our favourite hokkien noodles at Beach Road Hawker Centre, and that was for our dinner that night.  I was certainly quite full then.  However, the thoughts of Tai Hwa was still flashing in my mind, for days.  Without a second thought, I drove to the Tai Hwa carpark, a stone throw away.  The car park was full, on a Sunday, in a public housing carpark.  Finally, I parked at the immigration car park and took a short and interesting walk across the canal to Block 466 Crawford Lane.

I have the impression that they own the whole coffee shop but it turn out to be a stall located at the right hand corner of the coffee shop.  There was still a queue of about 8 persons in front of me by the time I joined the queue; it took me a perspiring 20 minutes to get my bowl of kuay teow soup.

I had a spoonful taste of the soup – it was heaven.  The first smell was that of a piece of deep fried fish (pi-hre,: I will check out the English name for this fish), which is a great condiment to most soup, porridge and noodles.  The wonderful flavor of the fried fish simply consumes the first taste of the soup.  What comes after is the sweetness of the pork.  It shows the immaculate skills of the chef to offer different flavors, including that of the seaweed, to seduce and your tase buds.

The kway teow noodles – according to my mum-in-law, the hawker imports it from Ipoh – melts in your mouth.  Look here; the small slices of pork, livers and miced meat also melts in your mouth.  It is not just tender, it is soft!

It was really a mouth watering experience.  Try it.

If you like chilli padi (cuts of little hot and spicy chilli), it adds a punch to the dish.  Be prepared to sweat it out.   I have yet tried the dry version of the noodes where you can taste the flavor of the chilli paste, another condiment of the Singaporeans who like it hot and spicy.  I will let you know soon.

Prepare to queue for the good food.

