My foodie Interest (吃四方)

Geylang – Kim Kee Prawn Noodles at Lorong 24A Geylang

The first bowl of noodle is served at 5 am.  And I was ever the first customer; it was one of those nights when the bladder was really bloated and I had to wake up in the wee hours, and later not able to get into slumberland.

It is only 5 minutes drive from home.  The early birds are those who party the night before, and those who need to work in the early morning.  In the later morning, you will have to wait a good 15 to 20 minutes for your noodles.  In the weekends, prepare to wrestle with families for a seat too.

This stall is managed by the second generation and it has been there for more than 15 years.

Normally, I have my usual special request; thick yellow noodles (mee) with big prawns and slices of pork.  It comes with Kang Kong too.  Unless I am in the mood for the porky tail, I will take my own sweet time, in the weekends, and enjoy nibbling the meat off the bones.  I like the noodles dry with their home made chilli sauce and a tea spoonful of sinful lard; ask for more Kang Kong if you feel guilty.  It also comes with a bowl of temperature-hot soup (prawn and pork as stock).

The soup is flavorful and rich of ingredients but somehow I just cannot seem to distinguish seafood from poultry orthe other way round at first taste.    The thin slices of pork does not really melts in your mouth but it is easier to chew.  The overall mix and taste of the lard, chilli paste, noodles, big prawns and pork are excellent.  And the soup goes well with the mix.

I have tasted better prawn noodles but those recipes are probably refined to suit the taste of the present.  The patrons here mostly are usually the older generation and matured people like me.

This is probably a vintage recipe of the 70s and 80s, which adds a taste of nostalgia to the present.  A hawker dish of the 70s and 80s?  Maybe…

I have loosely translated to Kim Kee from the chinese name on the sign board.  But it is not difficult to recognise the two big prawns image on it.

Are you tempted to have a taste of history and its beautiful past?

Cheers.

